Life Beyond Raising Children

As a mortgage lender and mother of two wonderful boys, Bryan (18) and Josh (14), life can become both hectic and routine, depending on the day. I enjoy working with my clients and seeing their home ownership goals become a reality just as much as I love watching our boys grow and reach new milestones. It has been fun over the years learning to balance work and my home life and I know that my family has benefitted from my commitment to both. As our boys are growing up, I have seen a shift in my time management as they need me less each year.

It is important for parents to rebalance as their children grow and find ways to take the time to nurture our own lives. Often as parents our children are the priority which is a beautiful blessing. But there comes a time when we need to refocus and make sure we are taking care of ourselves. Some people even manage to do this with young kids and I admire them greatly. I am learning more and more the importance of making myself a priority, which can be hard as a mother of two.

Find new hobbies.
Make it fun and do something you thought you would never like! What is the worst thing that happens? You hate it and never do it again? Well chances are you may actually enjoy it. I thought I would hate doing artsy things like ceramics and painting, but sure enough here I am returning to my Saturday night ceramics class, meeting new people and having a blast.

Get involved in your community.
This is one that I remained close to, even with children as they grow older I see myself finding new fun ways to participate.  Such as the Antelope CPAC (Antelope Planning and Advisory Council) and the Center Unified School District Bond Oversight Committee.  I am also active socially in the Ladies of Antelope which started about a year and a half ago so the women in our area had a place to connect and socialize with each other.  Even if you are just attending meetings or going to an outdoor community fair, making the time to do these things means that I am meeting new people and fostering fresh relationships.

Make a personal health commitment.
This is something we should all do regardless of where our lives are at. Most focus on physical health but lets not forget about emotional and mental health. Living a healthy life means less stress and more energy. For me as a mother I have found more time to make this a priority as my boys get older. I am now food prepping, finding time for myself at thy gym and also focusing on my emotional health, which has been an amazing experience. Self-love is something we assume we need to schedule. Sometimes it is a s simple as taking your coffee outside and walking around the block, or the river if you are near one. Sometimes self-love is a simple as just taking five breathes of fresh air without interruption.

As a mother this wouldn’t be fun unless I highlight my two boys. We adopted both our boys, Brian who is now 18 at 13 months and Josh who is 14 at six weeks. Brian is autistic and we have seen him grow and reach incredible milestones like teaching himself how to play guitar and also teaching all of us about the latest tech trends. His sense of humor always lifts our family and his autism has never been a something he has allowed to slow him down. Our younger boy Josh is an adventurous, gracious, empathetic and caring boy. With an autistic big brother brother, you can see how much he cares for all those around him no matter what their circumstances. His kindness makes me so proud. Josh just earned his second degree black belt in taekwondo and what makes me even more excited is his interest in helping the kids that attend his academy learn and grow.

Our boys inspire me to work harder and be a better person. I hope this sheds some light into what I am working on now that my children are growing up and also helps you think about how you can prioritize yourself in all that goes on around you. Carve out time for something fun. Be adventurous and do something you said you would “never” do. Who knows, maybe you’ll be like me and laugh at how much you love it.

Kathleen Beck – Mortgage Lender
2716 Broadway
Sacramento, CA 95818
916-722-0395
#LifeBeyondRaisingChildren #RaisingChildren #Children #Life #Hobbies #WorkLife #WorkLifeBalance #Balance #Harmony #Fitness #CommunityInvolvement #PersonalHealthCommitment #PersonalHealth #Health #Community #Involvement #HomeFinancing #TrustedLender #Mortgage #MortgageLoanProcess #Buying #HomeBuyer #Refinance #ConventionalLoan #FHALoan #VALoan #JumboLoan #PreQualifications #PreApproval #Borrower #HomeOwnership #Sacramento #BayArea #California #Mom #Mother
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

